Graduate Students

Ph.D.

Fatih Serkant Adiguzel

Student

serkant.adiguzel@duke.edu

Serkant is a first year PhD student in political economy field. He holds a B.A. in Economics, a B.A. in Political Science & International Relations, and an M.A. in Economics, all from Bogazici University, Istanbul.

Specialties: Political Economy

Kathryn Alexander

Student

kathryn.j.alexander@duke.edu

Kathryn (Kat) Alexander is a Ph.D. Candidate with a first field in Security, Peace and Conflict and a second field in Religion and Politics. Her dissertation takes a multi-methods approach to examining how levels of religious commitment within countries’ populations impact... Full Profile »

Specialties: Comparative Politics, International Relations, Security, Peace, Conflict

Robert Allred

Student

robert.allred@duke.edu

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict

Sam Bagg

Teaching Assistant

samuel.bagg@duke.edu

Samuel Bagg is a PhD candidate in political theory. His dissertation develops a normative framework for thinking about democracy which is compatible with our best empirical understandings of actually existing democratic systems and the human agents who compose them. Rather than resting on... Full Profile »

Specialties: Political Theory

Andrew Ballard

Student

andrew.ballard@duke.edu

My research focuses on American politics, and I am particularly interested in representation, campaign finance, political methodology, elections, legislative politics, and public opinion. I have researched a variety of topics, such as the effect of competitive elections on policy representation... Full Profile »

Specialties: American Politics, Behavior Identities, Methods, Political Institutions
missing portrait

Curtis Bram

Student

curtis.bram@duke.edu

Specialties:
missing portrait

Joseph Brown

Student

joseph.w.brown@duke.edu

Specialties:

Asli Cansunar

Student

asli.cansunar@duke.edu

Asli Cansunar is a Ph.D. candidate in Political Economy. Her research focuses on different aspects of the political economy of redistribution and the welfare state. She mainly pays attention to the preferences over taxes and social policies. Her dissertation examines the effects... Full Profile »

Specialties: Political Economy

Pawel Charasz

Student

pawel.charasz@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Economy

Chong Chen

Student

chong.chen@duke.edu

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict

Haohan Chen

Student

haohan.chen@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions

Tianshu Chen

Student

tianshu.chen@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions

Eric Cheng

Student

eric.cheng@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Theory

Moohyung Cho

Student

moohyung.cho@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions

Noa Cnaan-On

Student

noa.cnaan.on@duke.edu

Specialties: Comparative Politics

Anh Do

Student

trang.anh.do@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Economy, Security, Peace, Conflict

Spencer Dorsey

Student

spencer.dorsey@duke.edu

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict

Victoria Dounoucos

Student

victoria.dounoucos@duke.edu

Specialties: Behavior Identities, Methods

Dean Gerard Dulay

Student

dean.gerard.dulay@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Economy

Margaret Foster

Student

margaret.foster@duke.edu

Margaret J. Foster is a PhD candidate studying bottom-up, or recruitment-driven, organizational change, with a particular emphasis on militant organizations and transnational insurgencies. In addition to her dissertation project, she is engaged in research projects that include computational and... Full Profile »

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict

Brett Gall

Student

brett.gall@duke.edu

Brett J. Gall is a third-year Ph.D. student working at the intersection of political behavior and political economy. His research focuses on preference formation, political participation, and the political consequences of inequalities. Brett holds a M.P.A. in Public and Social Policy from the... Full Profile »

Specialties: Political Economy

Brian Guay

Student

brian.guay@duke.edu

Brian is a Ph.D student in the Department of Political Science at Duke University and a research assistant with the Duke Initiative on Survey Methodology. His research interests... Full Profile »

Specialties: American Politics

Xiaoshu Gui

Student

xiaoshu.gui@duke.edu

Specialties: Behavior Identities

Luis Guirola

Student

luis.guirola@duke.edu

I work on the political economy of medium run transformations of industrialized economies. I explore how changes in the income distribution, its dynamics, as well as labor market mutations related to technological change, demography, and exposure to trade may affect political outcomes such as... Full Profile »

Specialties: Political Economy

Alexandra Hecker

Student

alexandra.hecker@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions

Ida Hjermitslev

Student

ida.hjermitslev@duke.edu

Ida Hjermitslev is a Ph.D. student in Political Behavior and Identity.  She graduated from the University of Copenhagen, Denmark, in 2014 with a MSc in Political Science. Her primary research focus is party politics in Western Europe. She is especially interested in new political issues, niche... Full Profile »

Specialties: Behavior Identities, Political Institutions

Patrick Howell

Student

patrick.howell@duke.edu

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict

Libby Jenke

Student

libby.jenke@duke.edu

I am a doctoral candidate in political science at Duke University. I am also a member of Scott Huettel's neuroscience laboratoryin Duke's Psychology and Neuroscience department (https://sites.duke.edu/huettellab/). My current research is focused... Full Profile »

Specialties: American Politics, Behavior Identities, Methods, Political Institutions

David Kearney

Student

david.kearney@duke.edu

David Kearney is a fourth year Ph. D. candidate in political science at Duke University. His research interests include Chinese politics, economic statecraft and US-China relations. David's dissertation investigates the effects of corruption, the relationship between money and power in China and... Full Profile »

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict

Chris Kennedy

Student

christopher.s.kennedy@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions, Political Theory

Anh Le

Student

anh.le@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Economy

So Jin Lee

Student

so.jin.lee@duke.edu

Specialties:

Zeren Li

Student

zeren.li@duke.edu

Zeren Li is a Ph.D. student in the Department of Political Science at Duke University. His research interests encompass a variety of topics, including political economy, authoritarian politics and political methodology.
Prior to joining Duke, he received my Bachelor Degree in Law from... Full Profile »

Specialties: Political Economy

Antong Liu

Student

antong.liu@duke.edu

Antong Liu received his LL.B. in International Politics and Sociology at Peking University (2012) and M.A. in Political Science at Duke University (2014). His academic interest lies in modern European political theory and philosophy and is now working on his dissertation dealing with the... Full Profile »

Specialties: Political Theory

Howard Liu

Student

hao.liu@duke.edu

I am a Ph.D. candidate in political science at Duke University interested in subnational conflicts, with a focus on dynamics of protest and repression in authoritarian countries. To study the dynamics, I use machine-coded event data to analyze the subnational variations. Given my interest in... Full Profile »

Specialties: Methods, Security, Peace, Conflict

Jesse Lopez

Student

jesse.lopez@duke.edu

Specialties: Behavior Identities

Fengming Lu

Student

fengming.lu@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Economy
missing portrait

Nicolas Madan

Student

nicolas.madan@duke.edu

Specialties:

Gabriel Madson

Student

gabriel.madson@duke.edu

Specialties: Behavior Identities

Elliot Mamet

Student

elliot.mamet@duke.edu

Elliot Mamet is a Ph.D. student at Duke University studying political theory and the history of political thought. He is particularly interested in ancient Greek and Roman political thought as well as the political thought of Hannah Arendt. Prior to coming to Duke, he served as a program... Full Profile »

Specialties: Political Theory

Devin McCarthy

Student

devin.mccarthy@duke.edu

Specialties: Behavior Identities

Katelyn Mehling

Student

katelyn.mehling@duke.edu

Specialties: Behavior Identities

Diego Mejia Romero

Student

diego.romero@duke.edu

Diego Romero is a first year Ph.D. student in political science at Duke University, and a member of the DevLab@Duke. He is specializing in Political Economy, and his research interests, all within the political economy of development, include... Full Profile »

Specialties: Political Economy

Ana Montoya

Student

ana.montoya@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions

Marco Morucci

Student

marco.morucci@duke.edu

Specialties: Methods

Soomin Oh

Student

soo.min.oh@duke.edu

PhD Candidate, Political Science

Specialties: Political Economy, Political Institutions

Alex Oprea

Teaching Assistant

alex.oprea@duke.edu

Alexandra Oprea is a 5th year PhD student in Political Science from Ploiesti, Romania. Her main field is Political Theory with a secondary specialization in Political Economy. Her research primarily addresses the place of children within liberal and democratic political theory. ... Full Profile »

Specialties: Political Theory

Victoria Paniagua

Student

victoria.paniagua@duke.edu

Victoria Paniagua is a Ph.D. Candidate in Political Science whose research interests lie at the intersection between comparative and international political economy. She studies the political economy of development and redistribution in developing countries from different angles. In her... Full Profile »

Specialties: Comparative Politics, Methods, Political Economy

Peng Peng

Student

peng.peng@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions

Ngoc Phan

Student

ngoc.phan@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Economy

Jordan Reilly

Student

jordan.reilly@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Theory

Kristen Renberg

Student

kristen.renberg@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions

Hannah Ridge

Student

hannah.ridge@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions

Jordan Roberts

Student

jordan.roberts@duke.edu

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict

Harunobu Saijo

Student

harunobu.saijo@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions

Bailey Sanders

Student

bailey.sanders@duke.edu

Bailey Sanders is a Ph.D candidate with a specialization in legislative studies, women and politics, and race and politics. In her dissertation she explores the potential factors behind bipartisan behavior, with a particular focus on descriptive representatives' potential to serve as partisan "... Full Profile »

Specialties: Behavior Identities, Political Institutions

Nura Sediqe

Student

nura.sediqe@duke.edu

Specialties: Comparative Politics
missing portrait

Jasmine Smith

Student

jasmine.smith1@duke.edu

Specialties:

Jeremy Spater

Student

jeremy.spater@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Economy

Brian Spisiak

Student

brian.spisiak@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Theory

Juan Tellez

Student

juan.tellez@duke.edu

Juan Tellez is a Ph.D. Candidate with a primary field concentration in Security, Peace, and Conflict and a secondary field in Political Methodology. He is particularly interested in sub-national conflict processes, public opinion in societies undergoing civil war, interstate... Full Profile »

Specialties: Comparative Politics, International Relations, Methods, Political Economy, Security, Peace, Conflict

Jason Todd

Student

jason.todd@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions

Isak Tranvik

Student

isak.tranvik@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Theory

Jan Vogler

Student

jan.vogler@duke.edu

Jan Vogler is a Ph.D. candidate with a specialization in comparative political economy and political methods. His research is concerned with political competition and the organization of public bureaucracies. In his dissertation, he analyzes the historical determinants of... Full Profile »

Specialties: Comparative Politics, Political Economy, Political Institutions

Austin Wang

Student

austin.wang@duke.edu

I am currently a Ph.D. Candidate in Political Science at Duke University. My first field is Behavior and Identity and the second field is Methodology.My dissertation focuses on how intertemporal choice, or the so-called patience and discounting factor, influences political... Full Profile »

Specialties: American Politics, Behavior Identities, Methods

Kaitlyn Webster

Student

kaitlyn.webster@duke.edu

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict

Tusi Wen

Student

tusi.wen@duke.edu

Tusi (Ündes) Wen is a Ph.D. candidate in Political Science from Inner Mongolia Autonomous Region, China. He specializes in the field of political economy and quantitative methodology, with a regional specialization in China and Inner Asia. His primary research interests include... Full Profile »

Specialties: Comparative Politics, Methods, Political Economy, Political Institutions

Exchange

Masters

Abigail Chambers

Student

abigail.chambers@duke.edu

Masters student with a concentration in Security, Peace, and Conflict, with a special interest in non-state actors, third party conflict involvement, and intelligence organizations.

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict

Dahyun Choi

Student

dahyun.choi@duke.edu

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict

Jiawei Fu

Student

jiawei.fu@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions

George Fust

Student

george.fust@duke.edu

Concentration: Security, Peace, and Conflict. Policy Interests: National security, civil-military relations, and NATO readiness. George Fust is a Captain in the United States Army originally from O'Fallon, Illinois.

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict

Sichen Li

Student

sichen.li@duke.edu

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict

Anne Qu

Student

yijing.qu@duke.edu

Specialties: Behavior Identities

Jared Vinnedge

Student

jared.vinnedge@duke.edu

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict

Jing Yang

Student

Phone: (919) 660-5867

jing.yang@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions

Linqun Zhao

Student

linqun.zhao@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Economy