Graduate Students

Ph.D.

Fatih Serkant Adiguzel

Student

serkant.adiguzel@duke.edu

Serkant is a first year PhD student in political economy field. He holds a B.A. in Economics, a B.A. in Political Science & International Relations, and an M.A. in Economics, all from Bogazici University, Istanbul.

Specialties: Political Economy

Kathryn Alexander

Student

kathryn.j.alexander@duke.edu

Kathryn (Kat) Alexander is a Ph.D. Candidate with a first field in Security, Peace and Conflict and a second field in Religion and Politics. Her dissertation takes a multi-methods approach to examining how levels of religious commitment within state populations impact foreign... Full Profile »

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict

Samuel Bagg

Student

samuel.bagg@duke.edu

Samuel Bagg is a PhD candidate in political theory. His dissertation develops a normative framework for thinking about democracy which is compatible with our best empirical understandings of actually existing democratic systems and the human agents who compose them. Rather than resting on... Full Profile »

Specialties: Political Theory

Andrew Ballard

Student

andrew.ballard@duke.edu

My research focuses on American politics, and I am particularly interested in representation, campaign finance, political methodology, elections, legislative politics, and public opinion. I have researched a variety of topics, such as the effect of competitive elections on policy representation... Full Profile »

Specialties: Behavior Identities, Methods

Asli Cansunar

Student

asli.cansunar@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Economy
missing portrait

Pawel Charasz

Student

pawel.charasz@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Economy

Chong Chen

Student

chong.chen@duke.edu

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict

Tianshu Chen

Student

tianshu.chen@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions
missing portrait

Haohan Chen

Student

haohan.chen@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions
missing portrait

Eric Cheng

Student

eric.cheng@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Theory

Cindy Cheng

Student

cindy.y.cheng@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Economy

Moohyung Cho

Student

moohyung.cho@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions

Noa Cnaan-On

Student

noa.cnaan.on@duke.edu

Specialties: Comparative Politics

Matthew Cole

Student

matthew.cole@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Theory

Anh Do

Student

trang.anh.do@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Economy, Security, Peace, Conflict

Spencer Dorsey

Student

spencer.dorsey@duke.edu

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict

Victoria Dounoucos

Student

victoria.dounoucos@duke.edu

Specialties: Behavior Identities, Methods

Dean Gerard Dulay

Student

dean.gerard.dulay@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Economy

Margaret Foster

Student

margaret.foster@duke.edu

Margaret J. Foster is a second-year student in SPC, studying militant organizations and transnational insurgencies with a particular emphasis on how participation in transnationally-networked insurgencies impacts both constituent groups and local conflict processes.  She graduated from the... Full Profile »

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict

Brett Gall

Student

brett.gall@duke.edu

Brett J. Gall is a second-year Ph.D. student working at the intersection of political behavior and political economy. His research focuses on political participation, preference formation, and the political consequences of inequalities. Brett holds a M.P.A. in Public and Social Policy from the... Full Profile »

Specialties: Political Economy

Brian Guay

Student

brian.guay@duke.edu

I am a Ph.D student in the Department of Political Science at Duke University and a research assistant with the Duke Initiative on Survey Methodology. My research interests... Full Profile »

Specialties: Behavior Identities

Xiaoshu Gui

Student

xiaoshu.gui@duke.edu

Specialties: Behavior Identities

Luis Guirola

Student

luis.guirola@duke.edu

I work on the political economy of medium run transformations of industrialized economies. I explore how changes in the income distribution, its dynamics, as well as labor market mutations related to technological change, demography, and exposure to trade may affect political outcomes such as... Full Profile »

Specialties: Political Economy

Michael Hawley

Student

michael.c.hawley@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Theory
missing portrait

Alexandra Hecker

Student

alexandra.hecker@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions
missing portrait

Ida Hjermitslev

Student

ida.hjermitslev@duke.edu

Ida Hjermitslev is a Ph.D. student in Political Behavior and Identity.  She graduated from the University of Copenhagen, Denmark, in 2014 with a MSc in Political Science. Her primary research focus is party politics in Western Europe. She is especially interested in new political issues, niche... Full Profile »

Specialties: Behavior Identities, Political Institutions
missing portrait

Patrick Howell

Student

patrick.howell@duke.edu

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict
missing portrait

Libby Jenke

Student

libby.jenke@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions

David Kearney

Student

david.kearney@duke.edu

David Kearney is a fourth year Ph. D. candidate in political science at Duke University. His research interests include Chinese politics, economic statecraft and US-China relations. David's dissertation investigates the effects of corruption, the relationship between money and power in China and... Full Profile »

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict

Chris Kennedy

Student

christopher.s.kennedy@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions, Political Theory

Anh Le

Student

anh.le@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Economy

So Jin Lee

Student

so.jin.lee@duke.edu

Specialties:

Sophie Lee

Student

sophie.lee@duke.edu

Specialties: Methods, Security, Peace, Conflict
missing portrait

Joshua Lerner

Student

joshua.lerner@duke.edu

Specialties: Behavior Identities

Zeren Li

Student

zeren.li@duke.edu

Zeren Li is a Ph.D. student in the Department of Political Science at Duke University. His research interests encompass a variety of topics, including political economy, authoritarian politics and political methodology.

Prior to joining Duke, he received my Bachelor Degree in Law from... Full Profile »

Specialties: Political Economy

Antong Liu

Student

antong.liu@duke.edu

Antong Liu received his LL.B. in International Politics and Sociology at Peking University (2012) and M.A. in Political Science at Duke University (2014). His academic interest lies in modern European political theory and philosophy and is now working on his dissertation dealing with the... Full Profile »

Specialties: Political Theory

Howard Liu

Student

hao.liu@duke.edu

I am a Ph.D. candidate in political science at Duke University interested in subnational conflicts, with a focus on dynamics of protest and repression in authoritarian countries. To study the dynamics, I use machine-coded event data to analyze the subnational variations. Given my interest in... Full Profile »

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict

Jesse Lopez

Student

jesse.lopez@duke.edu

Specialties: Behavior Identities
missing portrait

Fengming Lu

Student

fengming.lu@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Economy

Gabriel Madson

Student

gabriel.madson@duke.edu

Specialties: Behavior Identities

Elliot Mamet

Student

elliot.mamet@duke.edu

Elliot Mamet is a Ph.D. student at Duke University studying political theory and the history of political thought. He is particularly interested in ancient Greek and Roman political thought as well as the political thought of Hannah Arendt. Prior to coming to Duke, he served as a program... Full Profile »

Specialties: Political Theory
missing portrait

Devin McCarthy

Student

devin.mccarthy@duke.edu

Specialties: Behavior Identities

Katelyn Mehling

Student

katelyn.mehling@duke.edu

Specialties: Behavior Identities

Diego Mejia Romero

Student

diego.romero@duke.edu

Diego Romero is a first year Ph.D. student in political science at Duke University, and a member of the DevLab@Duke. He is specializing in Political Economy, and his research interests, all within the political economy of development, include... Full Profile »

Specialties: Political Economy

Ana Montoya

Student

ana.montoya@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions

Marco Morucci

Student

marco.morucci@duke.edu

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict

Soo Min Oh

Student

soo.min.oh@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Economy, Political Institutions

Alex Oprea

Student

alex.oprea@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Theory
missing portrait

Victoria Paniagua

Student

victoria.paniagua@duke.edu

Specialties: Methods, Political Economy

Peng Peng

Student

peng.peng@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions

Ngoc Phan

Student

ngoc.phan@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Economy
missing portrait

Jordan Reilly

Student

jordan.reilly@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Theory

Kristen Renberg

Student

kristen.renberg@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions

Alicia Reyesbarrientez

Student

alicia.reyesbarrientez@duke.edu

Specialties: American Politics

Hannah Ridge

Student

hannah.ridge@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions

Jordan Roberts

Student

jordan.roberts@duke.edu

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict
missing portrait

Guadalupe Rojo

Student

guadalupe.rojo@duke.edu

Specialties: Methods, Political Economy

Harunobu Saijo

Student

harunobu.saijo@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions
missing portrait

Bailey Sanders

Student

bailey.sanders@duke.edu

www.baileyksanders.com

Specialties: Behavior Identities, Political Institutions
missing portrait

Anna Schultz

Student

anna.schultz@duke.edu

Specialties: Comparative Politics

Nura Sediqe

Student

nura.sediqe@duke.edu

Specialties: Comparative Politics

Jeremy Spater

Student

jeremy.spater@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Economy

Brian Spisiak

Student

brian.spisiak@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Theory

Won Steinbach

Student

won.steinbach@duke.edu

Specialties: Methods, Security, Peace, Conflict

Juan Tellez

Student

juan.tellez@duke.edu

Specialties: Methods, Security, Peace, Conflict
missing portrait

Jason Todd

Student

jason.todd@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions

Isak Tranvik

Student

isak.tranvik@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Theory

Jan Vogler

Student

jan.vogler@duke.edu

Jan Vogler is a Ph.D. candidate with a specialization in political economy and political methods. His research is concerned with political competition and the organization of public bureaucracies. In his dissertation, he explores the historical determinants of institutional characteristics of... Full Profile »

Specialties: Political Economy
missing portrait

Austin Wang

Student

austin.wang@duke.edu

Specialties: Behavior Identities, Methods

Kaitlyn Webster

Student

kaitlyn.webster@duke.edu

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict

Tusi Wen

Student

tusi.wen@duke.edu

Specialties: Methods, Political Economy

Masters

Robert Allred

Student

robert.allred@duke.edu

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict

Scott Bennett

Student

scott.a.bennett@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions

Abigail Chambers

Student

abigail.chambers@duke.edu

Masters student with a concentration in Security, Peace, and Conflict, with a special interest in non-state actors, third party conflict involvement, and intelligence organizations.

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict

Qing Chang

Student

qing.chang@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Economy

Bidan Chen

Student

bidan.chen@duke.edu

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict

Siyao Cheng

Student

siyao.cheng@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions

Dahyun Choi

Student

dahyun.choi@duke.edu

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict

Jiawei Fu

Student

jiawei.fu@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions

George Fust

Student

george.fust@duke.edu

Concentration: Security, Peace, and Conflict. Policy Interests: National security, civil-military relations, and NATO readiness. George Fust is a Captain in the United States Army originally from O'Fallon, Illinois.

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict
missing portrait

Handi Li

Student

handi.li@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions

Sichen Li

Student

sichen.li@duke.edu

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict

Chuan Liu

Student

chuan.liu@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions

Yijing Qu

Student

yijing.qu@duke.edu

Specialties: Behavior Identities

Jared Vinnedge

Student

jared.vinnedge@duke.edu

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict

Ying Wang

Student

ying.wang2@duke.edu

Specialties: Security, Peace, Conflict

Zhaojun Yan

Student

zhaojun.yan@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Economy

Jing Yang

Student

jing.yang@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Institutions

Xinzhi Zhao

Student

xinzhi.zhao@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Theory

Linqun Zhao

Student

linqun.zhao@duke.edu

Specialties: Political Economy

Exchange

Henning Tovar

Student

henning.tovar@duke.edu

Specialties:

Saskia Weber

Student

saskia.weber@duke.edu

Specialties: